• Welcome to Crohn's Forum, a support group for people with all forms of IBD. While this community is not a substitute for doctor's advice and we cannot treat or diagnose, we find being able to communicate with others who have IBD is invaluable as we navigate our struggles and celebrate our successes. We invite you to join us.

I'm screwed

The other day I didn't drink much water and so my poop came outreally hard and now I have a fissure. I normally use what the doctor gave me but I accidentally left it at home and this medication is not something you get at CVS. What should I do? I can't soak because their is no tub at college. I am thinking about getting vaseline but I have never done that before so I don't know what to do. I just know that if I move wrong it re-opens and I bleed a tiny bit so I put a piece of toilet paper there which seems to have made it worse. I can't go to the school doctor tomorrow because I can't skip my 8 am and the doctor comes at 7:30 but I am afraid that I will miss class and it is an important one so I have to wait till Wednesday to see him.

Thanks everyone, I hope I didn't just screw up my college career.

Kev

hey Jeff.. Couple of thoughts.. Can u get in to see the Dr after your 8 AM class? How about an overnite courier to get the meds you left at home delivered to you @ school
Another thing, since there are no tubs, try the local pharmacy/drug store for a 'sitz' bath (sp?). It looks like a plastic sombrero, sits in the toilet, turns it into like a 'bidet' for soaking sore parts. When not in use, it can be washed and stored out of sight. I think regardless of how this fissure thing turns out, you may want to add a sitz bath to your arsenal (No pun intended). I don't think you screwed up your college career. I just think you need to collect your thoughts, weigh your options, perhaps talk to the college counsellor or resident advisor, tell them you are momentarilly having a little physical setback, and ask them for their advice.