• Welcome to Crohn's Forum, a support group for people with all forms of IBD. While this community is not a substitute for doctor's advice and we cannot treat or diagnose, we find being able to communicate with others who have IBD is invaluable as we navigate our struggles and celebrate our successes. We invite you to join us.

Kc's Story

Hey there everyone,
Been a while since I have joined a new forum, so lets see...

Back when I was about 16 I started having the symptoms we all know too well, and I spent the better part of my days in the bathroom. I was a freshman in high school, and lets just say the bathrooms offered no privacy! Every day was hell for me to even go to school. I was sick, and it only got worse. I was losing weight at the rate of a couple pounds a week, I went from a good weight of about 140 or so, down to about 100 over the course of the year. I started to looks so sick and pale that my teachers actually called a meeting for/about me.
This is when my parents decided enough was enough. I had already been through the rounds of doctors locally, none could figure me out. So I was taken to Childrens Hospital in Denver. I was scheduled for a colonsocopy (my second) right away, and did the whole barium, contrast, and other nasty stuff. Within a day or two my doctor their knew without a doubt, what was wrong. I was diagnosed with crohns, from my throat all the way through to the end. I now knew why my throat was always hurting too!

So I spent a little over a week in the hospital. I was anemic, dehydrated, and all that good stuff. I was put on somewhere aroung 70-80 mg of prednisone. And boy was I HUNGRY!

Forgot to mention, after all was said and done..It took well over a year for me to be diagnosed, and to finally know what was wrong with me. It was a relief, while at the same time a concern. I had an incurable disease...now what?