• Welcome to Crohn's Forum, a support group for people with all forms of IBD. While this community is not a substitute for doctor's advice and we cannot treat or diagnose, we find being able to communicate with others who have IBD is invaluable as we navigate our struggles and celebrate our successes. We invite you to join us.

Hi everyone---i'm kind of new to this...

X

xrayzerase

hi everyone---i'm kind of new to this...

hi-i'm andrea-i'm 43-and was diagnosed with mild crohn's on august 24 06. ..so-i guess i am still kind of processing this new information..
i have been to a gastroenerologist over the past months-(and once about 6 years ago-for frequent diarrhea)
i had a colonoscopy about 7 years ago because my dad had colon cancer-(he is ok now-had surgery) and the results just said i had evidence of scarring/ adhesions from a myomectomy (surgery to remove fibroids in uterus) a year before this.
for many years i thought my diarrhea was due to having had such large fibroids and then the surgery. my doctors also thought i might have ibs.
4 years ago i had shingles (just a small area of sores along the nerve from my left eye to my scalp)-and at the same time a virus that made my saliva glands swollen-as well as the gland under my left ear.
a few months ago i went to the gastro because of chronic heartburn-it seemed to be at its worst just before i made a stool or whatever--but-was/is bad all the time.
i went on prevaid-it helped for a short time-but then it started up again despite the med-as well as diarrhea becoming more frequent and often watery. my stools were almost always yellow. i didn't lose weight though-..i am pretty much average weight in general..)
i tried nexium-had diarrhea (it seemed ..due to taking it...but now i wonder..) i also tried prilosec(cheaper--but didn't work at all) as well as zantac (also didn't work)