• Welcome to Crohn's Forum, a support group for people with all forms of IBD. While this community is not a substitute for doctor's advice and we cannot treat or diagnose, we find being able to communicate with others who have IBD is invaluable as we navigate our struggles and celebrate our successes. We invite you to join us.

Where to begin?

Hello!

My story with this disease started when I was 12. Went to my mom's GI and he told me I had IBS and to take Immodium and Metamucil. Went back when I was 16, told the same thing. Went back @ 31, to the same doc. I had been bleeding off and on for a few years and thought I should get it checked out since several family members had colon/rectal cancer. This info motivated the doc to run the usual tests of colonoscopy, endoscopy, biopsy, celiac's. Found the strictures in the ilieum and the biopsy confirmed Crohn's. That was 8/07. Started Entocort, Pentasa, pred to try to control the cramping and other symptoms. Well, nothing was working. Right after Christmas, my doc suggested a resection. Had the surgery in 1/08. After surgery, I started on 6MP, B12 injections and iron tablets. Things were going ok-still not convinced that I was all better. After several months on 6MP, my liver acted up and I had to stop taking it. At that point, I voiced that maybe I didn't need any drugs and I should "wait and see" what happens. Well, in 2/09, a year after surgery, there was no evidence of Crohn's during the colonoscopy. But, I began having several BM's, blood, etc. Doc said it was all due to post surgery. He did another scope in 10/09 and again, all clear. I got smart after that and decided to switch doctors. I saw the new guy in 1/10 and his first priority was to get my flare under control. He BELIEVED me! He put me on pred. That seemed to bandaid the situation, but in March I started a downward spiral. He ordered his own scopes and found the strictures, ulcer, and polyp that apparently wasn't there for the other doc to see! I started