• Welcome to Crohn's Forum, a support group for people with all forms of IBD. While this community is not a substitute for doctor's advice and we cannot treat or diagnose, we find being able to communicate with others who have IBD is invaluable as we navigate our struggles and celebrate our successes. We invite you to join us.

Hello i'm a newbie to here, but NOT to Crohn's

Hi everyone and how are you all today ? :sign0144:
I have sufferd with Crohn's for 28 years this month. to be exact...lol..
I am now getting my 4th Surgery on 20th August...for a small bowel resection. and to tell you the truth, i'm scared stiff, and releived at the same time !!:pale:

At the moment i'm taking.. wait for it.... here's the longgggggggggg list...

MST,( morphine tablets) 20mg 2 x daily
Oral Morphine 5mls when necc
Pentaza
Buscapan
Prednisolone ( yukk!!!)
Methorixate
folic acid
co codamol,
imodium ( if i need it)
cyclazine
my gooodness i could go on, but you'll get so :boring:

Before i was diagnosed at 18, my nurse at the time from the gp's said i was Depressed !!! how can depression cause ... diahrea,excrusiating pain, no appetite, weight loss, fatigue, vomoting, ect....
My first op was in 1982 resection of snall bowel
Second 1989 adhesions
Third op 2001 Laparotomy, my small bowel was too diseased to take anything away, as it was scatterd. so had to treat it medically.
Now i'm having my 4th op in 3 weeks time... small bowel resection again....

I have 2 teenage boys and a hubby to take care of me when i need it,... they are just my rock.. oh and a border collie who is a great companian when i can't get out, which is often !!...

The only thing i can say is i never let this beat me from doing anything when i am well.... i have just come back from Tenerife on a family holiday... with ALL my Meds. my gp was concerned about me going.. but i needed it, and so did my family....i couldn't do much the first few days, but then just got on with things , as you do