Share Facebook
Crohn's Disease Forum » Tests for IBD » Can a person's colonoscopy results be "normal" and still have Crohn's?


08-01-2010, 11:13 PM   #1
Zeb
New Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Can a person's colonoscopy results be "normal" and still have Crohn's?

I don't know and am curious. How far does the colonoscopy scope go when doing the procedure? Can it go far enough to find problems that may be Crohn"s?

Thanks!
08-02-2010, 12:27 AM   #2
Entchen
Chief Dandelion Picker
 
Entchen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Hi: Great question, and the answer is yes. A colonoscopy examines the colon (large intestine) and can sometimes also reach the terminal ileum in the small intestine. This is enough to cover a very significant proportion of places where Crohn's occurs, but not all. The scope cannot reach any of the rest of the small intestine, so a colonoscopy might not show any problems and you could still have Crohn's.
__________________
Dx: Moderate Crohn's in 3 locations
Doctor's orders: 200 mg Imuran
Have used: 4500 mg Pentasa, 4500 mg Salofalk, Flagyl, Cipro, 50 mg Prednisone, 9 mg Entocort.
Turned my Crohn's life around: ginger for nausea.
Claim to fame: "loopy and floppy" colon
08-02-2010, 12:33 AM   #3
DustyKat
Super Moderator
 
DustyKat's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: New South Wales, Australia
Hi Zeb,

If there are no problems a colonscopy can visualise the large bowel and into the distal end (where the small bowel joins the large bowel) of the terminal ileum. If someone has inflammation in the terminal ileum they often can't get the scope into that area. They can't scope the whole small bowel so there are areas that are missed. To visualise that you need to have other tests done eg. CT scan, MRI, Barium follow through, Pill Cam, Ultrasound.

HTH,
Dusty

Haha just saw Kelly's post but I will submit anyway.
__________________
Mum of 2 kids with Crohn's.
08-02-2010, 12:47 AM   #4
scifi-enthusiast
Senior Member
 
scifi-enthusiast's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: McAllen, Texas
This is enough to cover a very significant proportion of places where Crohn's occurs, but not all.
To further emphasize Kelly's statement, Crohns can manifest anywhere from the mouth to the anus. When I was diagnosed I was riddled with ulcers from the tip of my tongue, all along the digestive tract, and down to the anus. One of the ulcers in my large intestine started hemorrhaging and I had to have 6 blood transfusions in 13 hours. They decided to do a resection, which had to be done blind since they couldn't necessarily do a colonoscopy.
__________________
Diagnosis: March 2008 (7 days after resection)
Surgery: 1 emergency blind resection because of hemorrhage & massive blood loss (March 2008), Reconnection of Colon (June 2008), Removal of billiard ball size abscess (Dec. 2010)
Meds: Lialda-2.4gm (every other day), Imuran-0mg, Pred-0mg, Calcium+d, Humira-40mg, Sulfasalazine-500mg
Previous Meds: Pentasa (didn't work)
Currently on SSD & SSI

Last edited by scifi-enthusiast; 08-02-2010 at 12:51 AM.
08-02-2010, 01:04 AM   #5
Jennifer
Adminstrator
 
Jennifer's Avatar
I have Crohns and my last scope was normal. So yes! A colonoscopy is not the only method used in diagnosis though. There are CT scans with fun stuff like barium, blood work, an endoscopy (down the throat) etc.
__________________
Diagnosis: Crohn's in 1991 at age 9
Surgeries: 1 Small Bowel Resection in 1999; Central IV in 1991-92
Meds for CD: 6MP 50mg
Things I take: Tenormin 25mg (PVCs and Tachycardia), Junel, Tylenol 3, Omeprazole 20mg 2/day, Klonopin 1mg 2/day (anxiety), Restoril 15mg (insomnia), Claritin 20mg
Currently in: REMISSION Thought it was a flare but it's just scar tissue from my resection. Dealing with a stricture. Remission from my resection, 17 years and counting.
Reply

Crohn's Disease Forum » Tests for IBD » Can a person's colonoscopy results be "normal" and still have Crohn's?
Thread Tools


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:48 AM.
Copyright 2006-2017 Crohnsforum.com