• Welcome to Crohn's Forum, a support group for people with all forms of IBD. While this community is not a substitute for doctor's advice and we cannot treat or diagnose, we find being able to communicate with others who have IBD is invaluable as we navigate our struggles and celebrate our successes. We invite you to join us.

New to the forums, but not to Crohn's

Hello, everyone. I'm not very good at introductions, but I'll give it a go anyway. I am 32 years old, married, with 2 young daughters ages 4 and 7. I'm a total science geek and I love explaining science to my kids and showing them how the world works by using simplified examples and toys for demonstrations. I'm an avid reader (mostly horror and sci-fi fantasy now) and video game player (mostly RPGs and action-adventures, though I am always up for a good FPS, too). That's a little about me that has nothing to do with Crohn's.

I was diagnosed with Crohn's in the Spring of 2004, but my symptoms started at least a year before that (in hindsight I suspect a few other things that go back further, but it's just guesses). At the time, doctors thought it was my appendix and removed it. I spent the following 6 or 7 weeks recovering from the surgery and then went back to work. Everything seemed to go back to normal.