• Welcome to Crohn's Forum, a support group for people with all forms of IBD. While this community is not a substitute for doctor's advice and we cannot treat or diagnose, we find being able to communicate with others who have IBD is invaluable as we navigate our struggles and celebrate our successes. We invite you to join us.

Christina's Story

Hi, my name is Christina I am 17 years old and I am new to this whole Crohns thing. I was diagnosed in Sept. 2009. I am not on any medication, but most likely in the next few weeks I will be put on something (probably Remicade) Here is my little background story....I think it started when I was in my second year of high school, my health started to decline. In the winter I was always really pale, and had no energy at all. I was not growing very much and I wasn't really gaining much weight, just kind of staying in one place. Then in grade 11, things just got worse. I was tired everyday, and during the christmas holiday I started to get really gassy and have looser bowel movements more frequently. I thought I had just eaten some bad food, or was not eating the right things, and I really didn't think much of it. It went like this for a little while until about July, when I noticed that I was loosing weight much more significantly and I couldn't eat a lot (even for me, I am a picky eater and have never been able to shove food in my face) at one time. I started to get pain and bloating in my abdomen and I had no idea what was going on. During the vacation, it was hard for me to do anything. Getting up was hard, I had no energy, when we drove to Alberta, I didn't get out of the car much because I just couldn't. I had little spasms of pain during the day, that would make me stop and bend over in agony, but I tried to brush it off. During that time I was taking extra iron supplements because I was becoming anaemic.