• Welcome to Crohn's Forum, a support group for people with all forms of IBD. While this community is not a substitute for doctor's advice and we cannot treat or diagnose, we find being able to communicate with others who have IBD is invaluable as we navigate our struggles and celebrate our successes. We invite you to join us.

Help and support needed!!

Hi everyone, My name is Suz and i am a 41 year old teacher and mum of 2 from newcastle, England. In january i was admitted with hospital with severe infection in abdomen. Scans showed appendicitis and i went to theatre to have it out. Turns out i had a chronic abcess on my fallopian tube. Never thought anthing more until about a month ago got a painful lump in the same place. Was admitted to hospital with another infection. The doctors have now said it is crohns and the abscess in January fits with crohns.I get no diarhoea and the ct scan was unclear, as was the ultrasound. Had a white blood cell scan - where they reinjected my white blood cells with a radioactive tracer. This has showed infection in the bowel area beside the appendix. Having a colonoscopy with biopsies in 3 weeks time and have just come off the antibiotics 9 on them 4 weeks!] When i was dicharged from hospital 3 weeks agol i was put on masalizine and they have now doubled the dose but i still have the inflammed lump.
I am just so confused! Has anyone else had a similar story. My bowel movements are normal - so unlike the stories i hear of crohns. How will i know what triggers the inflammation eg foods etc as no diarrhoea to indicate this.? Will the masalizine reduce the inflammation and then it wont come back? The only thing i find is when i do too much lifting, walking up stairs or the stomach is poked and prodded it seems to inflame it even more and it gets worse. I really hope someone will be able to help me as i am so confused and scared of what the future will hold. I am normally so full of life and good health.!!!