• Welcome to Crohn's Forum, a support group for people with all forms of IBD. While this community is not a substitute for doctor's advice and we cannot treat or diagnose, we find being able to communicate with others who have IBD is invaluable as we navigate our struggles and celebrate our successes. We invite you to join us.

My Story.

Hi, everyone. I've been posting here for a couple of weeks. Thought I'd finally post my story. I know that everyone has their own, but this is my story. I'm looking for any help and suggestions. This is my first time putting it online. I haven't gotten to have a lot of feedback about it from other Crohnies. This is me asking for help. :)

I was diagnosed in May of 2008 at the age of 23. I had been showing serious symptoms since September of 2007. Lost maybe 20 pounds or so. Started going to the bathroom enough (7-10x per day) that people pressured me into seeing a doctor finally in May of 2008.

By the time I had my appointment, it took my 1st Doc 10 mins to convince me to schedule a scope down both sides. Before I even made it to the date of the scopes, I wound up in the hospital from the pain. I was misdiagnosed by an ER Doc with some acid issue (can't remember, because it was so rediculous). So, I went home and waited for the scope date.

The scope showed a lot of ulcerations, inflamation, etc. Blood tests and Biopsies, along with the scopes, confirmed Ileocolic Crohn's. After beginning various meds (prednisone, Asacol, etc), they scheduled me for a Small Bowel Series. It didn't show much. I don't know if it was because of the equipment, of if my body wasn't cooperating. All I know is that the Tech changed from X-rays to some hand-held machine. He had to lean on me to be able to see anything. I think I stopped it before he was able to draw any real conclusions.