• Welcome to Crohn's Forum, a support group for people with all forms of IBD. While this community is not a substitute for doctor's advice and we cannot treat or diagnose, we find being able to communicate with others who have IBD is invaluable as we navigate our struggles and celebrate our successes. We invite you to join us.

I am a NEWBIE!

S

stephrena

I am a newbie, and I feel overwhelmed, stressed, and frustrated. I am also in the "angry" stage right now. I get frustrated and mad easily- and am grumpy. When I have an "outburst" my husband always says "Oh, its just the Crohn's talking" is anyone else, now or when they were first diagnosed, mean? My husband means well, is very supportive, but he is always trying to help me do things, and of course my reaction is LEAVE ME ALONE I DON'T NEED YOUR HELP. Does this pass? I guess this is part of the angry/denial stage?

GRRR if you give me the wrong answer I might throw things! hehe...just kidding :)

--steph
"i have crohn's but crohn's doesnt have me"

i think i might make bumper stickers with that phrase.

R

ruthymg

Hi steph and welcome. I certainly remember being in the extremely angry phase right after I was diagnosed and probably up to 2 years afterwards. My hubby used to get extremely frustrated with me but he never showed it, at the time we were only dating and I know I was terrible a lot of the time. I used to tell him that just because I had crohns, that didn't make me incapable because his constant help and support drove me mad. Very ungrateful I know but at the time I was in a hell of a lot of pain, had constant accidents and generally felt really crappy about how my life was panning out. My hubby has never had health problems, he's perfectly healthy, goes to the gym, eats what he likes etc and I think a part of me resented that at the time. Thankfully he stayed around and as I said, he's now my hubby.