• Welcome to Crohn's Forum, a support group for people with all forms of IBD. While this community is not a substitute for doctor's advice and we cannot treat or diagnose, we find being able to communicate with others who have IBD is invaluable as we navigate our struggles and celebrate our successes. We invite you to join us.

New on here-had ileostomy need HELP!!!

new on here-had ileostomy need HELP!!!

hiya guys i am new to this and ive signed up mainly got this reason to find out if my problem i normal or not if any1 has had an ileostomy... i had al of my large bowel romoved but my rectum left in due to being on steriods and as of yet as i only had it done two weeks ago, there is no talk of the reverse as it was quite a severe cas also. I have had crohns/colitis for two years ad no medication worked. Anyway thats a small intro for you but my problem is.. today i passed mucus/blood from my anus..i got told it was normal for the first few days and i did pass blood twice in the hospita but not since. I was just wondering is this still normal or should i be worried and mention it to my surgeon? i was very poorly in hospital so having some complications also with my stoma healing, its very very swollen and the stitches wont stay attatched and my surgeon said hes not seen it happen before but is not worried(ive had it restitched once already) has any1 else had this problem? he says its because my body isnt strong enough for it to repair just yet i personally think its because my stoma is so swollen and heavy especially with mybag putting pressure on it nd when it gets heavy. Any1 that is occuring the same problem or had it and can just put my mind at rest or even let me know how your experience was thatl be great. thanks guys x

hi Diddi, & welcome to the forum :)

i think you should definitely mention the rectal bleeding to your surgeon.. although i wouldn't worry too much about it.