• Welcome to Crohn's Forum, a support group for people with all forms of IBD. While this community is not a substitute for doctor's advice and we cannot treat or diagnose, we find being able to communicate with others who have IBD is invaluable as we navigate our struggles and celebrate our successes. We invite you to join us.

My story, oh my story...

Hi. I am new to the forum and have been actively following many of the threads. They have been an amazing coping mechanism and I feel it is about time I became more active as a member of the forum.

I am a doctor and just started my surgical residency training. I was diagnosed with crohn's colitis my 4th year of medical school. One day (after a night of hard drinking), i began to experience bloody diarrhea, urgency, gas, etc. Had a colonoscopy done and they found the colitis to be in my descending colon (left side). I have been managed on prednisone and asacol but I have now got to a point where everytime I come off the prednisone, i begin to experience symptoms again. I had a repeat scope just a week ago and the colitis is more patchy and throughout the colon. There is no involvement of the small bowel. I have no doubt that the stresses of intern year have made this worse. It sucks because I do not want to give up on my dream that I have worked so many years for, but I do want to move towards better control of my situation. I believe immunomodulators are next on the list for me, 6-MP which I will most likely start sometime this week after seeing my GI doctor.