• Welcome to Crohn's Forum, a support group for people with all forms of IBD. While this community is not a substitute for doctor's advice and we cannot treat or diagnose, we find being able to communicate with others who have IBD is invaluable as we navigate our struggles and celebrate our successes. We invite you to join us.

Oh, Crohn's...

So, I'm laying in bed having a bit of a pity party tonight waiting for a Vicodin to kick in and figured... what better time to finally join the forum and chime in! ;)

My name's Kris, I'm 27, and I'm in my second semester of an accelerated nursing degree program at Duke University. I was diagnosed with Crohn's in September of last year, two weeks after starting the program. What timing.

My initial presentation took me through the ER as I've had several abdo surgeries (TAH '05, later lap for adhesions that led to a tuboovarian abscess and suspected bowel perf and major laparotomy as a result in early '08) and the campus NP was worried about obstruction. Had been having waves of LRQ pain, no bowel movements for several days, fever. They did a CT, found inflammation, admitted me, scoped me, and voila! Crohn's!

(Of course, now I know that it was likely an early Crohn's flare that caused the pain that we pinned on the adhesions that led to that lap that led to the abscess that led to the surgery/ICU time... oops. Wish they'd caught it back then.)