• Welcome to Crohn's Forum, a support group for people with all forms of IBD. While this community is not a substitute for doctor's advice and we cannot treat or diagnose, we find being able to communicate with others who have IBD is invaluable as we navigate our struggles and celebrate our successes. We invite you to join us.

Food lover in mourning...

M

Megatron

I'm a real food-lover. Food was my hobby. I'm a fashion journalism student in London (originally from Texas...), but was pursuing a career in food-writing. I was reading books by famed food-writers and was in the middle of an internship with a prestigious national newspapers' food department. I savoured the most RANDOM foods, from kimchi (rotten spicy cabbage, a Korean diet staple), to steak tartar doused in raw egg yolks, to Vietnamese minced eel. I can't think of anything I'd rather do than just EAT! I have a bigger (and more adventurous)appetite than any boy I know.

But alas, in January I was diagnosed with Crohn's disease and must kiss my anticipated career in food-writing goodbye. I'm in mourning, not for my intestines but for my tastebuds.

My story is short and, fortunately, rather uneventful...

This past October I was hospitalised for a week with the UK's NHS. After a scary week-long sting in East London's most overcrowded hospital, I was discharged with a diagnosis that just read 'inflamed bowels'. The pains had gone so I just went on with my daily life; if the doctors weren't concerned then why should I be?

I went home to see my family in Texas for Christmas and on boxing day the same exact pains came back. A hospital stay and colonoscopy later, I've been diagnosed with Crohn's disease. I'M the one to get it, out of ALL the finnicky eaters in my family! Oh the irony.