• Welcome to Crohn's Forum, a support group for people with all forms of IBD. While this community is not a substitute for doctor's advice and we cannot treat or diagnose, we find being able to communicate with others who have IBD is invaluable as we navigate our struggles and celebrate our successes. We invite you to join us.

New here

A

Avery

I am 17 and a junior in high school. I have been teaching dance at a local studio for about five years and have been taking dance lessons since I was two. I was diagnosed with Crohns in 2002 at the age of twelve.

I remember the couple of weeks leading up to my diagnosis like I just experienced it. I was in the 6th grade so I should have been energetic, and full of life but all I wanted to do was sleep. I went to my family doctor the day my family was leaving for Disney World, a couple of days later my doctor called and said that I was so anemic that I would probably need a transfusion when I got back. I ended up not getting the transfusion but saw a gastr doc two days after getting home. We talked and once she learned that Crohns ran in my family she set up the typical tests and a week later I was told its crohns.

For two years I tried every single medicine that my doctor could think of. I ended up having a small bowel resection. the surgery helped for a little while. then it flared again. I started remicade and that helped for about eight months and then it flared again. So I started a strong round of medicines was choking down around 25 pills a day.After a few months nothing was working and I wasn't able to be in school. So I decided on a very drastic method.

Last summer I had a feeding tube placed in my stomach and went a pre-digested, liquid diet for two months. It worked miracles. I felt better instantly. Unfortunately a few weeks ago I learned that it is back so strong that my liquid diet wont be able to help because it is getting too bad too fast. I am now waiting on word to know if I will have another surgery.