• Welcome to Crohn's Forum, a support group for people with all forms of IBD. While this community is not a substitute for doctor's advice and we cannot treat or diagnose, we find being able to communicate with others who have IBD is invaluable as we navigate our struggles and celebrate our successes. We invite you to join us.

Hello, im new!

vickyoddsocks

wears odd socks
Hi, id like to say hello, im new to this forum (and bear with me coz im rubbish with computers!) My name is Vicky im a 21 year old student at the University of Lincoln (UK) studying Equine Sport Science. I'v had Crohns since i was 13, but didnt get diagnosed till i was 16. (got the whole, "Youve just got IBS" thing!) Ive been on every drug under the sun : Prednisolone, Pentasa, Mesalazine, Azathioprine, Infliximab, D3forte, Metronidasol, Cefradine, and of course Ferreous Sulphate. Ive had a right hemi collectomy, and i then got fistulising Crohns with peri anal disease and a nice big abcess to go with it! ( dont want to be gross but there was 500mls of puss when they drained it!) :-s I've had 8 operations witht he abcess, and setons in for 18 months. I then went on the elemental diet as a last ditch attemp, literally days before having a colostomy and i became a new pearson! Had the setons removed. I stayed on the drinks for 7 1/2 months, and became so well (even when i stopped them) ive been able to come to uni. Iv currently still got the abcess, had it for 4 years now, but remained well untill this easter holidays, where Ive had another flare up. So im now back on the elemental diet, 17 days encounting! And just wondered if theres any fellow 'suckers' (as in the drinks!lol!) out there.
Also can i just say ive never even spoke to anyone with crohns before so it would be great to hear from you!
Thank you for taking the time to read this.
Vicky
XXX

Hello,

I am glad you have improved so much after all your problems.