• Welcome to Crohn's Forum, a support group for people with all forms of IBD. While this community is not a substitute for doctor's advice and we cannot treat or diagnose, we find being able to communicate with others who have IBD is invaluable as we navigate our struggles and celebrate our successes. We invite you to join us.

Acceptance

I have been fighting Crohns disease now for over ten years now and have finally arrived at a point of accepting the fact that I am never going to be normal again. My Crohns story starts over ten years ago at age 50 when I went to a Doc in a box complaining of constipation and severe abdominal pain. I was given what was a new drug at the time called Propulsid and was told that the drug would work better than a laxative because it would make my intestines squeeze harder and help me move the stools through my intestines. Less than a week later several diverticulum in my large intestine perforated and I was hospitalized for fecal matter in my abdomen. After several hospitalizations they removed 18 inches of my large intestines due to massive scarring. The drug has been removed from the market. The “doc” turned out to be a Physicians’ assistant and I was told that she had moved out of state when I got out of the hospital.