• Welcome to Crohn's Forum, a support group for people with all forms of IBD. While this community is not a substitute for doctor's advice and we cannot treat or diagnose, we find being able to communicate with others who have IBD is invaluable as we navigate our struggles and celebrate our successes. We invite you to join us.

Advice please.....

advice please.....

hiya

this is my first time here, so please bare with me....)
guys - i need your advice please.

i was diagnosed (finally) 18 months ago after the stupid gastroentrologist decided that I have IBS... long story short : I was on steroids, but they really aggravated my depression, so I was on azathioprine which caused pancreatitis and drug induced lupus (nearly died). now I have the pleasure of being on methotrexate.
i was on 25mg injections for the last 4 months, and now the gastroentrologist (a new one) reduced it to 10mg. everything that was acheived by the higher dose went away, and my pain is back, and the arthritis (lower back and knees) got so bad that i can bearly walk on some days. My GP decided to take the dose up again, but i am not a happy bunny:-(
The MTX gets me soooooo sick. i vomit, have headaches, sleep most of the time. I am not a human for 4 days after. I hate it! I don't know what to do anymore. I don't want to keep going on it, and it is not a drug to take at such doses for too long, but I can't take steroids and i need something that will also sort the arthritis.
the new gastroentrologist is very impatient and not much of a consulting type... I don't know what to do, I get so down:-(

please - any advice?

Have you considered getting a second opinion from a different GI (one who is the "consulting type")? I'm sorry the metho is making you feel so awful. Has your GI ever mentioned biologics? (Like Humira, Remicade) or seeing if they can work with your depression with drugs or counseling.