Share Facebook
Crohn's Disease Forum » Surgery » Stoma Subforum » Colostomy: 1 piece vs 2 piece

06-10-2011, 07:00 AM   #1
lotte26

Colostomy: 1 piece vs 2 piece

Hello lovelies!

As you probably know I am a newbie colostomy bag lady. I have tried several bags and was just wanting some opinions on some things.

First off, is it normal for a flange to lift up around the stoma? I used my first 2 piece the other day and have had it on for three days. I have been noticing that output is getting under the seal though, and this worries me... The stoma nurse said it was fine because I have a colostomy, but seriously, poo on skin, any kind is not a good thing IMO. Tonight the poop was about 1 cm under the seal too, perhaps I squidge my bag to much to move poo down? Do any of you guys do this or just let it sit there and eventually fall down. I don't think I have had a big a poo for that to happen .. Lol.

Second, do you colostomates prefer one pieces or two pieces? I like the idea of two pieces much much more as I can't bear the thought of pulling off the flange two or three times a day! I have very thin sensitive skin. But on the other hand I don't want poop sitting on my skin for up to a week. Ew.

Anyway your opinions would be appreciated!

-Charlotte

Crohn's disease since 2002, with multiple fistulae

25 May '11 : colostomy formed, 70cm bowel removed + 50cm ileum removed.

16 October 2015 - open parastomal hernia surgery to be performed

Past Failed Meds: Pentasa, azathioprine, methotrexate, Humira.

Current Meds: Humira, azathioprine, fluoxetine, Brevinor, Fish oil, melatonin
06-10-2011, 07:10 AM   #2
Nyx

My Support Groups: