Share Facebook
Crohn's Disease Forum » Support Forum » Vent Away » Older and living at home

07-17-2007, 12:35 AM   #1
Sojourn

Older and living at home

I've been a truck driver for some time now and have spent most of my time on the road and would rent a motel, or stay with my parents during time off. I must admit, I haven't been exceptionally wise in my use of money and have had to pay off some debts in addition to the college tuition for the online classes I've been taking.

So when I was hospitalized recently, I was not prepared financially for all the overhead expenses to get moved into an apartment. I've been out of work for a month now and have been staying with my parents. I'm not married and don't have kids so that's not an issue. Though it has been kind of a blow to my self-esteem. Since I've been ill, I've felt it's been okay for while but once I start feeling better I know I'll feel like I need to get out. I'm 37.

Yet, I think my parents want me to stay. They're retired and I think they like having the extra company around and I enjoy their company as well. They live here in Norman, OK where the university is and have offered to pay all my college expenses, except an apartment, until I graduate which should take about a year and a half. I've pretty much decided to give this a try through the Fall semester. I'll work part-time also.

Of course, the way I am right now, I don't plan on getting into any romantic relationships soon, but that could be an issue down the road. I guess I'm worried about the general attitude people will have towards me also when they find out I'm living with my parents. It's not like I've been living at home since high school. I've been all over the country and world since then. But I think there will still be some sort of stigma there.