• Welcome to Crohn's Forum, a support group for people with all forms of IBD. While this community is not a substitute for doctor's advice and we cannot treat or diagnose, we find being able to communicate with others who have IBD is invaluable as we navigate our struggles and celebrate our successes. We invite you to join us.

New here

Hi everyone, my name is Jennifer and I was diagnosed with Crohn's in 2007. I noticed that each time I ate fried foods or green veggies, I would get this intense pain in my right abd that radiated to my back. My doctor ordered a ultrasound for gallstones twice but each time it was neg. The test did however show enlarged lymphs in my abd which she just brushed away. I was told to take antacids and to basically deal with. (By the way I am a nurse). I made an appt with a GI who immediately suspected Crohns, small bowel series and colonoscopy confirmed.

I am not the "typical" Crohns patient in that I am overweight, which by the way is causing me great deal of stress. I used to be an active person but now I am fatigued all the time. Just made a trip to the ER in which I was told I had acute pancreatits, low potasuim and glucose levels.

I am no longer working because of the stress(frequent flairs). I am still learning what I can and can't eat. I am not bothered with the big "d" but with chronic constipation. I guess I still have not fully accepted that I have crohn's.

Meds
Humira 40mgs
Prednisone
Percocet
Multi vitamin
Flagyl
Bentyl

David

Co-Founder
Hi Jenny and welcome, I'm glad you found your way here :) I'm sorry you've been going through so much however, you poor thing :(

Considering you're low in potassium and due to the symptoms you mention, I've got to ask, have you had your vitamin B12 and iron levels checked?

While everyone is different, be sure to check our our Diet and Fitness forum for some potential dietary ideas.

Again, welcome :) I hope to see you around!

Dexky

To save time...Ask Dusty!