• Welcome to Crohn's Forum, a support group for people with all forms of IBD. While this community is not a substitute for doctor's advice and we cannot treat or diagnose, we find being able to communicate with others who have IBD is invaluable as we navigate our struggles and celebrate our successes. We invite you to join us.

Newbie Here from Montreal, Quebec

Hi all..Im new here..saw this site and wanted to join...about me,,I have ulcerative colotis since I was 17 and now im 36...been doing pretty good expect for the odd mild flare ups...I take asacol and also salofalk suppositoires (or butt bullets as I call them ) and also was on purinethol but we have a shortage here for thiis medication...so my doc put me on Azathioprine 125 mg dose a day...the odd this I noticed shortly after taking my first dose was my pee..I was shocked to see it bright yellow?? has anyone else had this and is it nothing to worry about???

HI Roden, welcome to the forum , i have had crohn's for 21 years now and i am taking Asacol for my Crohn's. Know a great deal about this medication there is interactions between Asacol and Azathioprine.There are many ways this drug interacts with Asacol. you can look at it on the internet. just punch in Azathioprine and Asacol you will see the interaction for yourself and print it off to show your doctor. I don't know why he shouldn't of checked this out first with his CPS book. He should've none the difference.The yellow pee could becoming from the dye from the asacol and it could be the interaction i don't know for sure. but, if i were you i would check this out with your doctor ASAP. Highly clinically significant.Avoid combinations the risk of the interaction outweighs the benefit. Best wishes.

scott

xJillx

Your Story Forum Monitor
Hi and welcome! That's great news that you are doing pretty well. You have me laughing over here with the butt bullet comment. I have taken Canasa suppositories in the past, so I know exactly what you are talking about.