Share Facebook
Crohn's Disease Forum » Treatment » Enteral Nutrition & TPN » Elemental 028 Extra - Tooth Worries

09-24-2011, 12:47 PM   #1
adamagogobaby

Elemental 028 Extra - Tooth Worries

Greetings everyone! I'm new here and I cannot even begin to communicate how pleased I am to have found this forum, and I don't think that's just because I'm currently pretty wired on Prednisone...

My Crohn's was diagnosed 8 years ago when I was thirteen, and since then I have been relatively lucky with my symptoms and flare-ups being mostly very mild and thankfully short lived. During the last 6 months however, I've gone through a major flare up in my small bowel which couldn't have come at a worse time. I'm a writer, and having just graduated this summer I've been trying desperately to juggle commitments with the hope of getting my life on track. I was just too tired and in too much pain to do anything once I got back from my part time job. After several unsuccessful courses of steroids and a long stay in hospital (just got out this week), I'm finally feeling near the top of my game again. I've been started on the Humira injection (my queries about which I will post in a more relevant place) and a short course of prednisone.

Introduction over.. Back to the point!

As I type I'm gulping down a truly delicious "Summer Fruits" flavoured Elemental 028 Extra drink. I was prescribed a sole diet of them by my dietician in order to give my guts a must needed holiday. I've seen a few threads about them on here, and just wanted to direct a few questions at those in the know.

I've noticed that these drinks are overwhelmingly sweet and sugary, but also very clingy in the mouth. Add to this the fact that the only other items I'm allowed to eat alongside this are 7up and Foxes Glacier Mints. I'm very worried about my teeth rotting away. I've found myself brushing my teeth about four times a day just to get rid of the horrible cloying taste, and have noticed a bit of a plaque build up.