• Welcome to Crohn's Forum, a support group for people with all forms of IBD. While this community is not a substitute for doctor's advice and we cannot treat or diagnose, we find being able to communicate with others who have IBD is invaluable as we navigate our struggles and celebrate our successes. We invite you to join us.

New to this forum

Hi everyone, this is my first time ever posting anything on a crohn's site forum. This is my story. I am a 35 year old female, I started having problems with my stomach in 1994, I ended up in the hospital, having an emergency appendectomy. I saw a bunch of doctors who had no idea what was wrong, they kept saying it was gastritis. Well, the non-stop vomiting and excruciating pain continued. I must of spent 6 years in and out of the hospital for the diarrhea and weight loss. I had one blood transfusion. Then I saw a doctor who was recommended by the Crohn's & Colitis Foundation of America, he performed a colonoscopy and he said it was crohn's. He then ordered somekind of ultrasound in 2000, apparently what showed was somekind of abnormality in my large intestine which was extended like a balloon, i needed surgery asap.