Share Facebook
Crohn's Disease Forum » Support Forum » Undiagnosed Club » Should I get a new doctor?

10-17-2011, 08:20 PM   #1
SawyerAshton

Getting a new doctor!

I'm at wit's end and am hoping that someone can give me some insight as to what my next step should be.

I've been fighting diarrhea/constipation for many many years. Starting in May, the D turned into something fierce. I can no longer eat anything high fiber or any veggies (unless you count potatoes as a vegetable).

I've had fatigue for 3 years and a general run down feeling.

I've had countless blood tests (I can't really recall all of the names and don't know off hand the numbers of them)

I've had a colonoscopy a couple of months ago which found inflammation in my terminal ilium.

My bloodwork for IBD came back "normal"

Currently 'go' about 8-15 times a day.

Here's the situtation:

My GI put me on Asacol HD 800 (3 pills once a day) for a week and a half and I noted minor improvement. He said since there was no improvement he took me off and did nothing more for 3 weeks.

I called and complained and he put me on Lomotil. I've only been taking 1 every morning to start. I was afraid to take too much and not be able to go at all.

In my visit today, we sort of had words. He had said at the last visit that even though the bloodwork doesn't point to it, he thinks it's Crohn's.

Today.... he said that it can't be Crohn's because of the bloodwork and was going to send me home with no change in medication. I pushed back and told him that I can't continue to live like this. He said take more Lomotil and come back in 6 weeks.

****Here's my red flag... He says that if the Lomotil helps, then it cannot be Crohn's and must be IBS. Is this true?

I think I should get another doctor, what do you think?

Last edited by SawyerAshton; 10-18-2011 at 08:25 PM.
10-17-2011, 08:23 PM   #2
scoutfinch

My Support Groups: