Share Facebook
Crohn's Disease Forum » General IBD Discussion » C reactive protein level-please help!

11-23-2011, 10:56 PM   #1
Mountaingem
Forum Monitor

My Support Groups:
C reactive protein level-please help!

I just got my first C reactive protein test results back. My level is 9, and I have been flaring for about three months, both joints and bowel. I slowly have improved, but still am having some issues. My ESR is 5; it never goes up very much, not even when my small bowel abcesses. My white cell count was 14 a month ago; now it is 10.

I know plently here have it MUCH higher. My question is: When does it become a cause for concern? I want to make sure my doctors follow up so it doesn't end up being a whole lot worse. I am on Remicade and the doctor will decide next week whether to raise the dose again.

I WILL STAY STRONG
I WILL FIGHT
I WILL WIN

Current Meds: Cimzia, Methotrexate, Prevacid, Sertraline, Nortryptaline, Prednisone, Atenelol
11-24-2011, 01:55 AM   #2
Rebecca85

I think if you are ill, that should take precedence over blood tests. If your markers don't typically show much, then any change is cause for concern.

125mg azathioprine
4g Pentasa
11-24-2011, 04:59 AM   #3
DustyKat
Super Moderator

Yikes! I submitted a reply a few hours ago and it's gone!

Weeeell, after my experience with Sarah I don't necessarily look to blood results to give me the answers I seek. If they have always been true to you then it may well be different. In Sarah's case her blood tests always returned normal even when she was seriously ill, on the other hand, Matt's tests go off at the slightest hint of a problem.

I now tend to look at the whole picture, if there are physical symptoms present that the bloods don't reflect then I take my lead from the symptoms that are there.