• Welcome to Crohn's Forum, a support group for people with all forms of IBD. While this community is not a substitute for doctor's advice and we cannot treat or diagnose, we find being able to communicate with others who have IBD is invaluable as we navigate our struggles and celebrate our successes. We invite you to join us.

Hello From Holland

P

pavago

Hey there, well i am a newbie here, but not new to the crohn disease.

Anyways, my name is Paul 26 years old/young from the netherlands. I have crohn for about 10 years now with all ups and downs that goes along with it.

I was wondering what its like to have crohn's disease in other countries, like how are the health facilities there and how you people handle your disease in daily life?

So thanks to a dutch crohn forum i found this site.

Anyways if you have any questions feel free to ask..

greets
paul

Welcome, good to meet you.

Well here in the Midwest of the US, I can say I'm sick and tired of the delegation of duties in our health system. You get a bill from each and every component and element that is utilized in your treatment....one from the blood test lab, one from this dr who saw you for 7 minutes, one from this one who talked to that dr for 3 minutes on the phone, one from the janitor, one from the dietician, one from company that made the sheets in the hospital....

of course I'm being a slight bit sarcastic, but only to a point, you do get about 8 different bills from being in the hospital for a few days. It's disgusting. The next time I'm in there before anybody even says a word to me or gives me any services, I'm going to ask them how much is it going to cost and have them sign something to that effect, this is rediculous.

Hi!

I visited Holland once, but was having a flare-up at the time, so couldn't do much but stay in my hotel room.
Shame really. It was great weather and the Amsterdam looked fantastic.