• Welcome to Crohn's Forum, a support group for people with all forms of IBD. While this community is not a substitute for doctor's advice and we cannot treat or diagnose, we find being able to communicate with others who have IBD is invaluable as we navigate our struggles and celebrate our successes. We invite you to join us.

What is happening to me?

Hi!

I was diagnosed with Crohn's a year ago and I'm dealing with it thanks to various treatments (Pentasa, stereoids, Immurel and now Remicade). But since around October, massive scabs have erupted all over my head. I'm studying in England so I went to see 3 different GP's and a gastroentorologist and absolutely none of them took it seriously. It was only when I woke up looking like the Elephant Man (I couldn't open my right eye as it had blown up and I had red blotches all over my face and arms) that I decided to go home and see some real doctors. My doctor saw me immediately and gave my stereoids. The swelling went down in two days but the itchy blotches stayed. My dermatologist saw me the next day and told me I needed to rip out the scabs. The scabs were caught in the hair so out came the hair! I think it's growing back... As if that wasn't enough, my eyes went red in the space of two days and my vision became blurry. My doctor was at a loss and told he didn't know what to do (which filled me with hope :eek:) and sent me to A&E. They sent me all through the hospital to different departments. At the end of the day, I came out of there with a huge bag of eye drops.
I was then hospitalised for a week where they did a few biopsies and nothing else!! They now have to wait for the results. How disappointing. They said it would take a while because I appear to have several things wrong with me. I have never had anythiong like this in my life! I am the first in my family that we know of to have all of this. I would greatly appreciate any help or advice as I am getting very scared which is not helping Crohn's. :sign0085: