• Welcome to Crohn's Forum, a support group for people with all forms of IBD. While this community is not a substitute for doctor's advice and we cannot treat or diagnose, we find being able to communicate with others who have IBD is invaluable as we navigate our struggles and celebrate our successes. We invite you to join us.

My story

my story

hi all
newbie here currently going through a flare up :(
started get ill in 2000 after 3 years of every test imaginable finally got a diognosis of crohns .
tried every medication going nothing seemed to work then after my first ct scan had resection operation ( 15 inches of bowell removed ) felt fine for about 6 months then started up again back on every medication my consultants suggested still didnt work.
so my consultants asked me what i think they should do with me and to be honest lost total faith in them so i said goodbye and would manage myself and for 6yrs no medication and no hospital visits or addmissions all seemed to be going well.
until the 18th of december 2011 got admitted to hospital and told after a ct scan got 3 strictres and would most prob need surgery very soon stayed in hosp till the 22 of december and discharged myself as couldnt be in hosp over xmas couldnt do that to my children scraped through xmas ( wich turned out to be fantastic ) but had to go hospital on saturday to be told all they can do for me is to put me on steroids wich i disagree with as in the past steroids had a bad affect on me i dont like the side affects or the health reprucusions that come along with steroids . i know some people would agree / disagree. and im
not promoting the non use of steroids just telling my story

shazamataz85

Welcome to the forum. How did you manage for 6 years? Were you in remission, or were you able to control it with diet?