• Welcome to Crohn's Forum, a support group for people with all forms of IBD. While this community is not a substitute for doctor's advice and we cannot treat or diagnose, we find being able to communicate with others who have IBD is invaluable as we navigate our struggles and celebrate our successes. We invite you to join us.

Acceptance Pending

Wow, where do I begin...

Two and a half years ago during my student teaching I started to have stomach pains, they would last for a bit and then go away. So naturally, I though being a healthy 22 year old woman I just must be allergic to something. I tried gluten, dairy, etc without any help. I felt really tired all the time but being a new teacher, I just thought it was par for the course and decided to suck it up. Fast forward to about 6 months later, still having occasional stomach pains, being in my the middle of my first real year of teaching I got very sick, nausea, diarrhea and horrible stomach pains one night and eventually went to the emergency room. They dismissed me with a stomach flu (that I must have gotten from one of my germy students) but then a week later it happened again and made an appointment with a GI. After going to the GI, I was also dismissed but told if it happened again to come back. Two weeks later, more pain, vomiting, diarrhea and another trip to the GI. This time the GI left for the day before he saw me and luckily Kevin could see me. He actually listened to me and made me feel like I wasn't going completely insane.