• Welcome to Crohn's Forum, a support group for people with all forms of IBD. While this community is not a substitute for doctor's advice and we cannot treat or diagnose, we find being able to communicate with others who have IBD is invaluable as we navigate our struggles and celebrate our successes. We invite you to join us.

New here and need support/advice

Hi, this is my first time on a discussion thread site. I've had Crohn's since 2001. I am a 29yr old wife and mother. I used to be a police officer and then trained to work for EMS, which I did for 5 yrs. I am now a stay at home mom for the past 5 yrs with my beautiful daughter, Raegan. I am also a nursing student and live in Clemson, SC. I don't know anyone with Crohn's disease and besides my husband, I have no support system. Last year around Christmas, I had my first bowel resection. They removed the illeum and surrounding areas. 30 days later I was back under the knife and they removed more active Crohn's that was missed the first time. Previous to those surgeries I have been on and tried every med under the sun. My body does not seem to respond to the usual frontline meds that most people with Crohn's respond to. I was even on Remicade for over a year with no difference. Also, prednisone has no effect on the Crohn's for me (besides making me mean as a snake and not be able to sleep!). Also, I have never had any remission periods, except for when I was pregnant with my daughter. My whole adult life I have had active flare-up type symptoms. My symptoms started getting really bad a few weeks ago and I was sent for a CT scan. I saw my doctor today and there are a couple of hernias, and a lot of inflammation, swelling, thickening and stricturing in several different areas. He said he would hope that the Crohn's is not back already, with it only being a year since the last surgery, but the only way to know is to do another Colonoscopy. So I'm doing that next week. I am just so tired of being sick and tired. For