• Welcome to Crohn's Forum, a support group for people with all forms of IBD. While this community is not a substitute for doctor's advice and we cannot treat or diagnose, we find being able to communicate with others who have IBD is invaluable as we navigate our struggles and celebrate our successes. We invite you to join us.

Upset..Have to quit school for now..

Hi everyone,
I'm relatively new here and was diagnosed about two weeks ago with Crohn's. I was put on prednisone and asacol with the hopes of being well enough to start a new semester of school on Jan 4. Boy was I wrong. I am continuously losing weight..I was 142 lbs beginning of December, now I'm down to 113 lbs, which is scaring me quite a bit. It's drained me of all my energy and I have no appetite at all. It seems whatever I put in my body just comes out anyways with a lot of pain, and I've also been vomiting a lot. Anyways, I'm just upset because I'm in my first year of pharmacy and because I'm so behind in my classes already it's likely that I will need to take a medical leave this term, which will put me behind in the pharmacy program a whole year. Which means all my classmates will be a year ahead of me and I'll be stuck with the new batch of first years in the fall. I guess I just need some support in dealing with this..I feel like I will never get better...sorry to be such a downer!

Welcome Meghan! Sorry to meet under less-than-ideal circumstances but you've found the perfect place to come and vent and get advice :) Don't apologise for being upset, it's freaking hard to miss out on "normal" things because of this awful disease so vent away. As for your weight, it might be worth talking to a doctor about getting on a liquid diet supplement, just to make sure you're getting the essential nutrients your body needs to get through your illness as well as the stress it puts you through. I hope the forum helps you!