Share Facebook

02-08-2012, 06:03 PM   #1
chippy

Modulen help?

I have been on the modulen diet for eigth weeks now and have improved so much on it that I thought about introducing food soon so rang my dietician for advise on how to do this best only to be told that he left three weeks ago and nobody has any paper work about me. Hospital still not got back to me so was wondering if anybody had any advise about the best way of introducing food without putting myself back to square one.

Thanks,

Chippy
02-08-2012, 08:52 PM   #2
DustyKat
Super Moderator

Hi Chippy,

I have no experience in this area but i think happy may be just the person you are looking for. Have a look at this thread...

http://www.crohnsforum.com/showthread.php?t=31028

It's fab to read that you have had so much success with an EN diet. Good luck with the next step!

Dusty. xxx
02-09-2012, 02:17 AM   #3
happy

My Support Groups:
Hi Ya chippy,
I'm Happy-- the one Dusty was talking about above.
Well first of all, I recommend that you are supervised by your doctor/dietician so keep working on that-- it is very easy to become malnourished.

You can read the thread that Dusty also suggested above for info about the resources that guided me, but I'll give you a quick intro here and then you can ask me specific questions.

First of all--drink lots of water. Your system is likely to get constipated with solid food. I also suggest having on hand a laxative (Miralax) with POLYETHYLENE GLYCOL (PEG) 3350 in it to use for a short while in case constipation becomes an issue. (There are no other ingredients in it to worry about.)

Then start very slowly; think of eating food as supplementing your EN for the first while. Chew the food thoroughly, eat slowly, and eat very small amounts at first.