Share Facebook

02-21-2012, 12:47 AM   #1
Gabismommy

Okay.. Dumb question..

I hate to sound like an ignorant idiot but what is a fissure guys? I have a peri-rectal abscess/fistula. I had a seton placed on Valentine's Day. Is a fissure something I should be aware/cautious of? Also, any advice on the seton,etc. is greatly appreciated. Thanks guys, you're the best!!

Loving my little girl and hoping to get into remission soon!

Add me on Facebook! http://www.facebook.com/#!/profile.php?id=1756286518
02-21-2012, 02:42 AM   #2
Slim Johnson

A fissure is something akin to a crack in the skin. Not a real big deal It's more of an annoyance that leads to itching and bleeding.. Of course, I am speaking from my experience. Others may have it worse.
02-21-2012, 03:28 AM   #3
Grumbletum

My Support Groups:
Like Slim says, tho I know some people here have problems with nasty, persistent ones. I believe sitz baths help, like they do with setons, abscesses etc to soothe and keep the area clean and that doctors can prescribe creams to help them heal if they are bad.
How is it going with the seton? Is it giving you some relief? There are quite a few threads here on how to handle them.

Previous: Prednisolone, Mesren, Omeprazole, Infliximab, Azathioprine
Current: Pentasa, Librax, Warfarin
Helen x
02-21-2012, 06:25 PM   #4
PaulsPain

My Support Groups: