• Welcome to Crohn's Forum, a support group for people with all forms of IBD. While this community is not a substitute for doctor's advice and we cannot treat or diagnose, we find being able to communicate with others who have IBD is invaluable as we navigate our struggles and celebrate our successes. We invite you to join us.

10 years of intestinal insanity

Hi! I'm a 31 year old woman, I live in NYC, and I was diagnosed with Crohn's about 10 years ago - the day I graduated from college, actually! Here I am, having just gotten a graduate degree, but with slightly less ravaged intestines at the moment!

My story is like a lot of what I have read in the few hours I've spent reading the boards here. I got really sick my last semester of undergrad and no one knew what was wrong with me. I lost 40 pounds in 2 months (and I was already a skinny vegan), had nonstop diarrhea, and spent most of my time barely able to walk. I collapsed right after I got my diploma (woohoo!) and was admitted to the hospital in Chicago, Illinois, with a fever of 104 - which I didn't even know was possible! Wow! They did all sorts of fun stuff - a flexible sigmoidoscopy, a capsule endoscopy, cat scans, MRIs, blood tests - and 10 days later I hobbled out with a diagnosis of Crohn's, a very sad terminal ileum and colon, and a whole lot of prednisone.