• Welcome to Crohn's Forum, a support group for people with all forms of IBD. While this community is not a substitute for doctor's advice and we cannot treat or diagnose, we find being able to communicate with others who have IBD is invaluable as we navigate our struggles and celebrate our successes. We invite you to join us.

Two diseases, no cures. My story so far.

I felt like writing tonight. This is part of my story. Sorry if it doesn't make sense I wrote it with my phones note pad

As I reach my 23rd birthday. I can't help but wonder what I've done with my life. Sure I graduated high school with over a 4.0. I attended one year of a private woman's college. I've met my wonderful and amazing boyfriend of 4 years. I have a good car, good job, amazing house. A 6 year old step son. But I still feel like I haven't accomplish much. That is. In the last ten years I had hope to learn to get over my trich. I had always told myself it was just my way of relieving stress and I could stop any time. But the truth was, I was addicted. I have never told anyone about it. Only my boyfriend and he still doesn't understand. As a teenager. It freaked my mom out and I was at the doctors at least once a month trying ti figure out why I was "losing my hair". I could never tell them the truth. I was embarrassed. I didn't want anyone to think I was a nutcase. But the tested never showed up what could be causing this hair lose and it always remained a mystery.Cookie
I have been pulling my hair, picking my skin for almost a decade. It amazes me. I can't believe I do this to myself. it's not that I want to. I just have to. I get into a trance and can't stop myself. It's worse when I'm stressed out.Cookie
As I grew more curious about trich I began to do research. Trichotillomania has no cure. Wait. You mean I'm stuck with this? For the rest of my life? How am I supposed to do this? I can't control myself and I'm going to look hideous for forever.