Share Facebook

07-16-2012, 08:41 PM   #1
poppanewt

New Joiner

Hi all. I'm new to the forum, so will take a moment to introduce myself.

I was diagnosed with Crohn's at age 52 after experiencing very bad abdominal pain and fairly serious weight loss. I had travelled to Mexico on business (I customize and implement software for a living) and while I was there I got bad diarrhea along with nausea every time I ate. I had experienced the nausea, although on a lesser scale for a year or more prior to going to Mexico, but had dismissed it, not following up with a doc about it.

As I was in Mexico, I, along with the first doctors I went to, thought it was a GI bug I had picked up via food and tried to treat it with various kinds of antibiotics, Cipro among them. I would seem to get a little better, then relapse at the end of the course. During this time, I ate less and less, due to the nausea, and lost around 40 pounds (on top or 25-30 I had lost dieting prior to the trip to Mexico). I would also have waves of abdominal pain and took various pain relievers for that.

Finally, my wife got concerned and made arrangements to go to Mayo Clinic for an evaluation. She didn't know what was wrong, but was very worried, as I was vanishing before her eyes. After an initial interview, I was admitted and had a team of doctors trying to diagnose the problem. After about a week, they decided to do a CAT Scan and discovered that I had a large abscess in my abdomen as a result of my large bowel perforating from the flare up.

They immediately put a drain in the abscess and put me on IV antiboitics, along with a liquid diet. This relieved the pain, but the Crohns was in full force by then, and I developed fistulas to my bladder and skin. I had chronic bladder infections, along with stool passing in my urine and through an opening close to my navel.