• Welcome to Crohn's Forum, a support group for people with all forms of IBD. While this community is not a substitute for doctor's advice and we cannot treat or diagnose, we find being able to communicate with others who have IBD is invaluable as we navigate our struggles and celebrate our successes. We invite you to join us.

My sob story :(

Hi all. This is my first time to this site. So far, I am really liking it. Thank you. I got on here due to the fact that I am 2 weeks post surgery with an ileostomy. My mood is not good. As I type, I'm trying to keep from crying.

A little background: At the age of 17, I was diagnosed with UC. My entire senior year was spent in and out of the hospital. I was on high doses of steroids and had, I think, every side effect possible. Despite all the drugs and diet changes, I never did go into remission. Before all this, I felt like I was on top of the world. I was junior homecoming duchess, did a couple of commercials, company leader on my dance team, honor student, etc. The steroids really messed me up. Ever since, I have had major confidence issues. Soon after I turned 18, I had the 2 part j-pouch surgery. I have always said that having the ostomy bag in between my surgeries was the worst couple months of my life. Of course, it didn't help that my midline incision had become infected during the hospitalization of my first surgery. The surgeon ended up opening the wound and my mom did sterile wet to dry dressings until my next surgery. I had lots of problems with my ostomy due to my skin being sensitive to all the tapes/adhesives. During my second surgery, they actually had to do a slight tummy tuck where the stoma had been because the skin was so bad.

Now to today...