• Welcome to Crohn's Forum, a support group for people with all forms of IBD. While this community is not a substitute for doctor's advice and we cannot treat or diagnose, we find being able to communicate with others who have IBD is invaluable as we navigate our struggles and celebrate our successes. We invite you to join us.

Questions Regarding Total Proctocolectomy Surgery

Hi, My name is Michael, I am 22 years old and I have been battling Crohn's Disease for about five years now. I've been hospitalized many many times for abdominal pain, severe constipation, bleeding, etc.. Back in February of this year I was hospitalized for two weeks and they decided to start me on a new drug called Remicade...It has been working for thhe pain and helping me eat foods I would not normally eat but It has not improved my condition of my colon or my lower bowels whatsoever. I have very many bowel movements everyday and its becoming to control my life. I don't go out very often, Im fortunate to have a very low key and stressfree job and access to what I need but my social life is suffering. I had an apt with a surgeon a few days ago and he advised me the best thing to do is to have the Total Proctocolectomy with the Ostomy Bag...He is giving me a bit of time to decide what I want to do. I'm having a bit of trouble deciding because I know this will change my life very much and I know once I get this done there is no take backs...Im looking for as much information about the procedure as possible.
I have so many questions that I dont seem to be getting the answers, like:
Recovery time?
The pros and cons?
If people have had regrets having the surgery?
Personal Life(Intimacy) issues?
Sports/Exercising?

If anyone has any answers or personal experience with it please any info would be much appreciated.

Thank You,
Michael

Angrybird

Hello Michael and welcome to the forum, I am sorry to hear that you are having to have surgery :(