• Welcome to Crohn's Forum, a support group for people with all forms of IBD. While this community is not a substitute for doctor's advice and we cannot treat or diagnose, we find being able to communicate with others who have IBD is invaluable as we navigate our struggles and celebrate our successes. We invite you to join us.

New Here, but not to Crohn's

Hello to everyone! Very happy to have found this forum! :sign0144:

I was diagnosed with Crohn’s in 2009; my GI Doc figures that I had been wandering around undiagnosed for about 10-12 years prior to that; mostly due to my procrastination, belief that I was invisible, able to withstand anything and, a busy doctor who was over worked.

In 2008 “AS” (Ankylosing spondylitis) took over my life! The pain was unbearable, body parts became severely inflamed (especially my lower back) and I believe the worst was my eyes… they would become so swollen; I could actually feel the eye pushing out. Luckily this appears to be a problem that comes and goes with flare ups. However, it was “AS” that assisted doctors in diagnosing me with Crohn’s (Ankylosing spondylitis in females is normally a secondary condition to Crohn’s). Between AS, canker sores, abdominal pain, diarrhea, etc. you begin to wonder if you are falling apart! (Nope still in one piece :ylol2:)

In 2009 I was started on a vigorous drug regime, all of which made me extremely ill, experiencing every side effect. The latest regime is Mezavant, Salofalk and Imuran, all of which I am giving up for Humira. I just received the prescription and now getting ready to start this new drug.

But I need your help or advice……