• Welcome to Crohn's Forum, a support group for people with all forms of IBD. While this community is not a substitute for doctor's advice and we cannot treat or diagnose, we find being able to communicate with others who have IBD is invaluable as we navigate our struggles and celebrate our successes. We invite you to join us.

PoliSci Grad Student

Hello Everyone!

My name is Chris. I am a PhD student in political science at Purdue University. I was diagnosed two years ago, which is interesting considering my GI wasnt even looking for Crohns when he discovered it. After two years of very manageable, and almost non existent symptoms, I had my first major flare last week. Still trying to adjust, but I am getting better each day.

Angrybird

Hello Chris and welcome to the forum :)

I am sorry to hear that the tum is acting up again. Out of interest what meds (if any) have you been on, what have you been given to sort this current flare up? How did they find out that you had crohn's?

There is a lot of helpful info and support here so do have a good look around.

AB
xx

Just imuran for the past 2 years. Prednizone to stop the flare up, which seems to be helping quite a bit considering what I was going through a week and a half ago. My Crohns was discovered through a good old fashioned colonoscopy....which I am having another one next month.

Hi Chris,
So sorry to hear about your recent flare. I too am a PhD student, in history and finishing my dissertation. Now I live in Colorado to finish my writing but my degree is from Bowling Green State University (so I've been through Purdue!). I was diagnosed with crohn's in June of this year and it has completely turned my world upside down. My adviser suggested that I apply for an academic leave of absence for this semester so I don't have to pay tuition. Waiting to hear. How are you doing with your flare and work? My brain is mush and I am in so much pain, not conducive to writing at all.