• Welcome to Crohn's Forum, a support group for people with all forms of IBD. While this community is not a substitute for doctor's advice and we cannot treat or diagnose, we find being able to communicate with others who have IBD is invaluable as we navigate our struggles and celebrate our successes. We invite you to join us.

Raw Food Diet

I've been battling Colitis for 6 yrs now. I seem to have a flare up every 2 years and it's been a tricky and tiring business. I have used Pentasa but find that it doesn't work well. I am Celiac, so I have been on a gluten-free diet all my life.
The one thing that helped instantly my last flare up and that I am following now is a raw food vegan diet. It's tough, I will tell you- but it works. Just wanted to share another point of view and another possibility. Check out David Klein. Anyway- there is a healing phase diet of raw food and then post-healing raw food diet. I usually do the healing phase and then move to the post raw food, but then once better I slide off the wagon- but I am working my way to do an 80 percent raw food. It is hard because I'm such a meat lover, but even though it has taken me a couple years...I'M slowly moving that way. I have given up red-meat for the most part. Also going to try the enema thing....with water.
The other thing that I think helped my last flare up was the pro-biotics as well. Just wanted to open another kind of thread!
What a tough disease, isn't it??

Angrybird

Hello and welcome to the forum :)

Just to confirm are you still on the Pentesa? Have no other meds been recommended to you? Do you still see a GI doc so they can keep an eye on disease activity? How long have you been on this diet and are you now symptom free? Perhaps it would be best to speak to your doc before doing the enema though. Also do you ever get your vitamin levels checked?

AB
xx