• Welcome to Crohn's Forum, a support group for people with all forms of IBD. While this community is not a substitute for doctor's advice and we cannot treat or diagnose, we find being able to communicate with others who have IBD is invaluable as we navigate our struggles and celebrate our successes. We invite you to join us.

Hi everyone I recently got diagnosed with Crohns in April 2012..I have to admit I am new to this and it is a huge live and learn as you go type of illness..I am not use to it and have had several er visits for flare ups since then usually about one every month or so ...I just turned 31 yrs old and have 4 kids to keep up with and I HATE that I losing valuable time with them due to me spending most of it in the bathroom..if anyone has any suggestions to help me get more control over this would be appriciated thanks :sign0085:

Google is a good friend, but remember to cast everything in a skeptical light if it's trying to sell you a product, especially one with risks or side effects of any sort.

The most important thing to do is learn, I neglected this for many years because my condition was controllable for a long time, but there are a lot of small things that effect your bowel behavior and what you think are flare ups might be foods your eating or stress induced.

Some basics are things like keeping a food log and looking at it any time you have issues. Remember that diarrhea is not necessarily the food you ate 7 hours ago finally passing, it can be a food you JUST ATE causing rapid bowel contractions, this caused me confusion for a long time. Other symptoms can be similarly quickly developed from food you just ate, and sometimes it may be that food you ate 7 hours ago. Keeping a log will help you to see trends. You can download calendar programs online that make this much easier to track.