Share Facebook

01-14-2013, 04:52 PM   #1
furiousfunker
Forum Monitor

Draining abscesses (update)

Hi everyone, I hope I've posted this in the right place..

today I went to see my GI for my results from an MRI scan I had on the small bowel last week, I thought I was on the road to remission, but apparently my crohns has other ideas

She said there is an abscess, around 2x3cm there and has got me going in on Wednesday afternoon for an ultrasound and to drain the abscess... Now I've never heard of draining before, I'm fairly new to the whole crohns thing, but it sounds absolutely horrific and I'm not ashamed to admit that I am a little bit scared of having a huge needle jabbed into it

So if anyone on here has any experience or advice for me, it would be greatly appreciated

Thank you!

Last edited by furiousfunker; 01-29-2013 at 11:34 AM.
01-14-2013, 05:05 PM   #2
Sailorluna
Forum Monitor

My Support Groups:
Hi Furious,
Is your abscess in your abdomen? I have only had perianal ones. Lot's of us have had these thing drained and scary as it sounds it will be ok. If you do not hear from someone that has had an abdominal one here you may want to post in the fistula/abscess subforum.

Good luck at your appointment.

Symptoms since 98
Resection and diagnosis June 2010
3 fistulas
abscess drained 6 times (so far...)
currently 2 seton in place 1 since 9/11 the other 4/14
1 strange small air pocket with an 8 cm sinus track leading into the great unknown
methotrexate weekly
folic acid
2 lomotil
2 Welchol
B12 injections (monthly)
Remicade

_____
Goodbye Humira
Goodbye Cimzia
Goodbye Azathiprine
01-14-2013, 08:54 PM   #3
Andrew k

Hi. Mine was perianal too. I was put to sleep when they did mine. Had a seton for 5 yes and constant dressing changes 5-10+ times a day. Not long had a proctectomy and now dressing free. Good luck. Hope all goes well

Previous meds; pentasa, prednisone, azerthioperine, infiximab, humeria. Steroid infusions. Macaptupurine
01-14-2013, 09:22 PM   #4
gmm