Share Facebook
Crohn's Disease Forum » General IBD Discussion » Depression and Crohns

01-21-2013, 02:41 AM   #1
mwkwmn
Forum Monitor

Depression and Crohns

I have been fighting Crohns for 20 years and had a good attitude until the last few years. I started getting very fatigued and no energy to do the everyday tasks we take for granted. After going to the hospital and getting admitted the doctors said that I had adrenal insufficiency due to longterm steroid use. I started getting depressed and very anxious after this onset and it has gotten to the point that I am struggling with getting through the day. I was started on lexapro and it was increased over time to 30mg/day. The anxiety is better but I am very depressed. I had low testosterone levels and they are giving me injections but I feel like they have helped but something is still not right. I was a very happy person full of life and energy and now I struggle with getting out of bed. I hate feeling this way and i am very ashamed because i know this is not my personality. I was wondering if anyone else has had this happen to them and if so what did you do to help the problem.
Adrenal insufficiency 2005
Blood clots 2006
Low testosterone 2006
Osteoporosis 2011

Meeds
Prednisone 7.5 mg
Lortab
Zoloft
Coumadin
Entocort
B 12 inj
Testosterone inj
Citrical with D
01-21-2013, 02:59 AM   #2
Dobermonster

My Support Groups:
Sounds like the position my mom was in several years ago. She saw a naturopathic doctor for the adrenal insufficiency and had huge improvements. When it was at its worst, she was very anxious and irritable, almost to the point of panic at times. I'll ask her about her experience.

Myself, I struggled with depression for years before the Crohn's diagnosis. I've noticed that since starting treatment it has improved. Some of what I've researched on the connection indicates that chronic malnutrition can play a big role. Have you had any vitamin levels checked recently?
01-21-2013, 03:02 AM   #3
mwkwmn