• Welcome to Crohn's Forum, a support group for people with all forms of IBD. While this community is not a substitute for doctor's advice and we cannot treat or diagnose, we find being able to communicate with others who have IBD is invaluable as we navigate our struggles and celebrate our successes. We invite you to join us.

Meds

A

Amy

Hi

I am new to all this (diagnosed last Wednesday with Crohn's)

I have been put on steroids and Mezavant but noticed yesterday that I am passing the anti-inflams whole! Did anyone else get this? Will they just try me on something else (waiting for Dr to ring me) I am also feeling absolutely awful although doc said the steroids would kick in within a couple of days, do you think it is just because I am not absorbing them?

I am so down at the moment.

Sorry my first post is so depressing!!

Amy

Hi, Amy!
Welcome to the forum. I take Asacol, which has a special coating so it disolves lower down in your system... don't know if your drugs are the same... but they do sometimes go straight through you and come out whole! Sometimes bits of the coating come out and it may look like it's the whole tablet.
I haven't taken steroids for a very long time, but there are plenty of people here who take them and hopefully answer all your questions.
This is a very friendly forum, and sharing all your worries really helps

C

catfud

Hello Amy, welcome to the forums. The steroids should kick in for you in a few days. A lot of people suffer nasty side effects from the steroids. They can really mess with your mood and sleep, they can also make you feel a bit crackers! But don't worry this is all normal and you can post here when having troubles with side effects. I was recently on a high dosage of steroids I could only sleep for 3 hours a night and I felt a bit loopy but this has now settled.

Not trying to scare you anything just giving you the heads up that the steroids mix you up... but do wonders at cleaning things up.