Share Facebook
Crohn's Disease Forum » Tests for IBD » Scheduled for Pill Cam and Have Bronchitis


02-15-2013, 10:22 AM   #1
jac521
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Maryland
Scheduled for Pill Cam and Have Bronchitis

I am supposed to have the Pill Cam done in a couple of days. I was just diagnosed with Bronchitis yesterday and put on an antibiotic.

I really want to have the Pill Cam done badly, but don't know if its a good idea if I have Bronchitis.

Your thoughts are appreciated.
Jac
02-15-2013, 10:58 AM   #2
nogutsnoglory
Moderator
 
nogutsnoglory's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: New York

My Support Groups:
I'd speak with your doctor. I would think its fine as long as they put you on a cough suppressant. Once it passes your chest area it's not going to come back up or be moved by your airways.
02-15-2013, 10:59 AM   #3
PsychoJane
Moderator
 
PsychoJane's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Quebec

My Support Groups:
I don't think the bronchitis would be a problem for the pill cam. I'd be more concerned about the antibiotic and how it can alter the actual IBD symptoms. Maybe it would worth asking your GI if it will be a problem for the validity of your exam. Otherwise, the pill cam really is of no concern as far as bronchitis go. I can see how the prep might be annoying as you can't eat as much as you want, but if you are not too weak from the bronchitis then, it should be fine I think.
__________________
Diagnosed UC 1999 then refractory CD.
Past Meds: Prednisone, asacol, cyclosporine, cyclophosphamide, mp6, Humira

Currently taking: Omega-3, D-3, med-free for the time being.
~~Oh! n sorry if what I write seems strange at times, English is not my main language!~~

You'd like to chat and feel facebook would ease this point,
send me a private message and i'll do so =)
02-15-2013, 01:58 PM   #4
jac521
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Maryland
Thanks everyone for your input.

I called the Drs. office and they said that the antibiotic is fine and would not interfere with the test results. I also asked them if the Entocort I take would interfere with the results, and they said "no".

I am very weak from a Crohn's flare and now the bronchitis on top of it.

The Dr's. office said it is no problem if I'm not "up to it", that they would just reschedule me.
Reply

Crohn's Disease Forum » Tests for IBD » Scheduled for Pill Cam and Have Bronchitis
Thread Tools


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:42 PM.
Copyright 2006-2017 Crohnsforum.com