• Welcome to Crohn's Forum, a support group for people with all forms of IBD. While this community is not a substitute for doctor's advice and we cannot treat or diagnose, we find being able to communicate with others who have IBD is invaluable as we navigate our struggles and celebrate our successes. We invite you to join us.

DX'd with Crohn's since 1997

I am currently experiencing a flare up. I was searching online for Crohn's flare up friendly diet suggestions and found this forum. I was diagnosed in 1997 after a year and a half of experiencing severe abdominal cramps. I used to work in the medical field while in the military. I worked on a med/surg ward as well as in an internal medicine clinic. During my time in the field I encountered doctors that would occasionally refer to a patient as a little crazy or "it's all in his/her head". I used to mentally shake my head at those remarks. When I first began to experience abdominal cramps I saw the same look on the medical staff whether it was a doctor or nurse. Their reply was usually that I just needed to watch my diet or that I was experiencing Irritable Bowel Syndrome. For a year and half I had to deal with severe cramps on an hourly basis if I ate. It got worse as time passed until I began to throw up. That is when one doctor I had not seen before, take notice. He immediately scheduled me for an upper GI. The doctor took a biopsy and it came back positive for Crohn's. He scheduled me for surgery the following morning. I wasn't relieved that I had Crohn's but I was relieved that finally what I was experiencing had a name and made more sense than all the other answers I was given. I had a resection. They took out a foot and a half of small intestine that was too damaged to repair with meds.