• Welcome to Crohn's Forum, a support group for people with all forms of IBD. While this community is not a substitute for doctor's advice and we cannot treat or diagnose, we find being able to communicate with others who have IBD is invaluable as we navigate our struggles and celebrate our successes. We invite you to join us.

Fibrin Glue Injection for Anal Fistula

Hello to All,
I am new to the Crohn's Disease Forum. My wife was diagnosed with Crohn's when she was 18, (she's now 48). She was mis-diagnosed (to put it mildly) for for more than a year as Anorexic. By the grace of God a young doctor figured out that she had Crohn's and performed emergency surgery to remove approximately 3 feet of her small intestine. This was in 1983, and until about six years ago she kept the disease under control with a diet and quiet lifestyle. In 2007, a perirectal abscess (and subsequent fistula) required surgery. Kaiser Permenente required her to go on Remicade before they would treat the fistula. She stopped after 4 or 5 treatments due to side effects, Kaiser refused to treat the fistula. She's been living with the fistula ever since.

Has anyone had a Fibrin Glue Injection to treat an anal fistula, or know anything about it? I've found a case study that says it very good treatment option. The problem is that I can't find anyone that is doing it. Any help or ideas would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks

Angrybird

Hello and welcome to the forum.

Just to confirm is your wife still under the care of a GI doc and if so how often is she seeing them? Have any alternative meds been mentioned at all? Is she on anything right now for the crohn's? I cannot understand the reasoning of not treating due to the fact she had an allergic reaction to a med - it's not like this is something she had any contol over. I have not heard of the above mentioned treatment but do also check out our fistula sub forum in case the folks here have: http://www.crohnsforum.com/forumdisplay.php?f=76.

AB
xx